Using Gotya for Ad Hoc Photo Surveillance – The DishTV Installer

A great example of an ad hoc photo surveillance use case is when contractors or other service personnel come to your home to perform a home maintenance or repair task such as plumbing, electrical, or appliance repair;  lawn, garden, or pool maintenance; or home improvement projects like a renovation or addition to your house.

In such cases you want a way to quickly set up a photo surveillance camera in the area where the work will take place, so that you can monitor the person or people doing the work to be comfortable that nothing unwanted is going on and can monitor activity and progress.

I recently had a Dish TV technician come to my house to install a new satellite dish. I wanted to be able to see what he was up to and monitor the job progress, without having to be right where he was working, looking over his shoulder. I also wanted to know if he wandered off, away from the work area, particularly toward my back yard, where he had no business being.  With Gotya, all motion would be detected and pictures taken, plus I could take an instant snapshot whenever I wondered what he was up to. I monitored his progress from my PC Web browser in my office, using the Gotya Web Controller, while I worked.

So I set up a Gotya motion detection and photo surveillance camera looking down on the work area.  I used a Nokia Lumia 820 Windows Phone mounted on a JOBY GripTight GorillaPod Stand. It took me about 3 minutes to set it up, and about 1 minute to take it down after the job was done. I used the remote calibration feature on the Gotya Remote Controller to get the right aim/positioning of the camera to capture the action that I wanted.

A sample sequence of twenty one pictures that Gotya captured of the DishTV installation are on the Gotya Instagram feed. (Turns out the Dish TV guy did a great job).

Here’s another example of a temporary ad hoc outdoor Gotya camera setup, this time using a JOBY GorillaPod Magnetic and a Nokia Lumia 900 Windows Phone 7.

Image

I used this one to monitor anyone coming and going from the side entrance.

If you’re going to use Gotya for outdoor surveillance like these two examples, make sure it’s not raining or if it is that the camera is sheltered, as smartphones don’t take kindly to moisture.

Let me know if you’ve used or are planning on using Gotya for some ad hoc photo surveillance of your own.

Happy Surveying.

Leave a Reply

